There are several reasons to wipe a device. To install an Automated Device Enrollment profile on a device that has already completed the Setup Assistant, the device will need to be wiped before the profile can be installed.
Devices can be wiped using the following methods:
Using Apple Configurator 2
On the device
Using Jamf School
Wiping the Device Using Apple Configurator
When using Apple Configurator 2 to wipe a device, you must connect your device to a computer with Apple Configurator 2 installed. When your device displays in Apple Configurator 2, right-click the device and navigate to Advanced > Erase all Content and Settings.
Wiping the Device Using the Device
You can wipe a device by opening Settings and navigating to General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings.
Note: If you do not see this option, it may be disabled in a restriction profile. Navigate to the restriction profile and ensure Allow the use of the 'Erase All Content And Settings' setting is deselected.
Wiping the Device in Jamf School
You can wipe a device using the Wipe Device quick action command from the device details in Jamf School. For more information, see Quick Action Commands for Device Management.