Re-enrolling a Managed Device Using Automated Device Enrollment

Requirements

Ensure that iCloud on the device is synced so data (for example, calendars, contacts, or photos) is backed up as needed. For more information, see the following articles from the Apple Support website:

  1. Sign out of iCloud on the device. If an iCloud sign-out is not possible, verify that the device has an Activation Lock bypass code and use the bypass code to access the device.

    For more information about Activation Lock, see Using Activation Lock Bypass.

  2. Erase the device in one of the following ways:
    • Erase a managed device remotely by sending an Erase Device command.

    • Erase directly on a device by navigating to Settings > General > Reset and tapping Erase All Content and Settings.

    For more information about erasing devices, Erasing a Device.

  3. Complete the Setup Assistant on the reset device. The device must be set up as a new device during Setup Assistant.
  4. (Optional) Once the device is at the Home screen, sign back into the iCloud under Settings to restore data synced with iCloud.

    For more information about device assignments, see Device Assignments Setup.