Lost Mode Management

Lost Mode is a feature that allows you to lock a mobile device and track the device's location. The device will report the GPS coordinates of the point where the device receives the command. This feature adds additional protection to mobile devices and their data in the event that a device is lost or stolen.

Note:

Jamf Now is not able to track the location of enrolled devices that are not in Lost Mode. For information on using the Find My app to locate a missing device, see the Find My app documentation from Apple.

For more information on using Lost Mode, see Using Managed Lost Mode for Apple devices in Apple's Mobile Device Management Settings.

Enabling Lost Mode

Requirements

To use Lost Mode, you will need supervised mobile devices with iOS 9.3 or later.

  1. Log in to Jamf Now.
  2. Click on the mobile device you want to put in Lost Mode.
  3. Click on the Action pop-up menu (•••) in the top-right corner, and select Enable Lost Mode.

    Screenshot of the Device dashboard, highlighting Enable Lost Mode from the pop-up menu.

  4. Enter a message and optional additional text on the pop-up window.
  5. Click Enable.
Your selected mobile device will display your message and optional text.

Screenshot of an iPad in Lost Mode, with a personal message and phone number to call.

Selected mobile devices will stay in Lost Mode until disabled in Jamf Now.

Tracking a Device in Lost Mode

When a device is put in Lost Mode, it relays its last known location to Jamf Now. The GPS coordinates of that location display in the device dashboard of the individual device that is lost.

Note:

Jamf Now is not able to track the location of enrolled devices that are not in Lost Mode.

  1. Log in to Jamf Now.
  2. Click on the device you want to check for Lost Mode location.
  3. Navigate to the Lost Mode card.

Disabling Lost Mode

  1. Log in to Jamf Now.
  2. Click on the mobile device you want to remove from Lost Mode.
  3. Click on the Action pop-up menu (•••) in the top-right corner, and select Disable Lost Mode.
Lost Mode will be disabled the next time the selected mobile device connects to a known network. A message will be left for the user letting them know the device was in Lost Mode and was being tracked by your Jamf Now account.