Erasing a Device in Jamf Now

Important:

When you send an Erase Device command, Jamf Now will erase all content on this device. If erasing a device that uses an eSIM, the Erase Device command will wipe the cellular plan data from the device, as well. Your users should have a backup through iCloud or iTunes to prevent data loss.

Requirements

An internet connection on the device receiving this command is required.

Additionally, if the device is unenrolled prior to erasing, it will not be able to receive the Erase Device command.

If you are sending an erase command to a computer with FileVault turned on, the device needs to be logged in first. If you forgot your user password, you can use your FileVault Recovery Key to unlock the device. For a walkthrough of using your Recovery Key to unlock your computer, see the "Use the private key to unlock a user's startup disk" section of the following Apple Support article: support.apple.com/HT202385.

  1. Log in to Jamf Now.
  2. Select the device you want to erase.
  3. Click on the Action pop-up menu (•••) in the top-right corner and select Erase device.

    Screenshot of the Devices section, highlighting where to Erase a device in the pop-up menu.

  4. On the pop-up window, click Erase.

After sending the Erase Device command to a Mac, it will be wiped, and then requires being rebooted in recovery mode to reinstall macOS. In a slow internet environment, this process can take a long time, so be prepared before sending the command. For more information about reinstalling macOS, see the following article on Apple's support website: https://support.apple.com/HT204904.

Sending an Erase Device command to an iPad or iPhone will wipe the device and prompt the device to run the setup process.

After an iPad or iPhone is erased, it is ready to be re-enrolled using Automated Device Enrollment. For more information, see Re-enrolling a Managed Device Using Automated Device Enrollment.