Device Refresh

The device refresh process has important steps to ensure that data is securely erased and your devices are able to be processed by the organization or individual that will acquire the device.

Important:

Some of these steps permanently remove data, so we recommend you test the steps before deploying to all your devices.

Preparing iPad or iPhone for Device Refresh

  1. Release the iPad or iPhone from Apple management. To do so, see the following documentation from Apple:
  2. On the device, log out of the iCloud account. For information on signing out of iCloud, see Sign out of iCloud on your iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, Apple TV, or Mac on Apple's support website.
  3. In Jamf Now, send the Erase Device command and the Unenroll Device command to the devices. Refer to steps two and four in the previous section for step-by-step instruction.

    For more information about erasing and unenrolling devices in Jamf Now, see the following articles:

Preparing Mac for Device Refresh

  1. Release the Mac from Apple management. To do so, see the following documentation from Apple:
  2. Send the Erase Device command to the devices:
    1. Log in to Jamf Now.
    2. Select the device you want to erase.
    3. Click on the Action pop-up menu (•••) in the top-right corner and select "Erase device".
    4. Click Erase.
  3. To reinstall macOS, reboot the Mac in recovery mode. For more information about reinstalling macOS, see How to reinstall macOS on Apple's support website.
  4. Send the Unenroll Device command to the devices:
    1. Log in to Jamf Now.
    2. Select the device you want to unenroll.
    3. Click the Action pop-up menu (•••) in the top-right corner and click "Unenroll device".
    4. Click Unenroll.