VPP User Registration

Before you can assign content purchased through Apple’s Volume Purchase Program (VPP) to users for user-based VPP-managed distribution, users must be registered with VPP.

A user registers with VPP by accepting a VPP invitation. There are three ways to send a VPP invitation:

  • Send the invitation via email

  • Prompt the user to accept the invitation—This displays a notification that prompts the user to accept the invitation. The notification is only displayed on mobile devices, but the user can still access the invitation from their computer by using Self Service for OS X.

  • Make the invitation available in Self Service only—This makes the invitation available in Self Service and the user is not prompted to accept the invitation.

After a VPP invitation is sent, it is available in Self Service on any computer or mobile device that the user is assigned to.

Note: The JSS also supports device-based VPP-managed distribution, which allows distributing Mac App Store apps directly to computers and App Store apps directly to mobile devices. For device-based distribution, VPP user registration is not required. For more information, see VPP-Managed Distribution for Computers and VPP-Managed Distribution for Mobile Devices.

Requirements

To register users with VPP, you need a VPP account set up in the JSS. (For more information, see Integrating with VPP.)

To send a VPP invitation via email, you need an SMTP server set up in the JSS. (For more information, see Integrating with an SMTP Server.)

If you send a VPP invitation via email and require users to log in, users must log in to a registration page with an LDAP directory account or a JSS user account. For users to log in with their LDAP directory account, you need an LDAP server set up in the JSS. (For more information, see Integrating with LDAP Directory Services.)

To send a VPP invitation by prompting users, you need:

  • Computers with OS X v10.9–v10.11 that are bound to a directory service and/or mobile devices with iOS 7.0.4–9 (For more information, see Binding to Directory Services.)

  • A push certificate in the JSS (For more information, see Push Certificates.)

Sending a VPP Invitation

  1. Log in to the JSS with a web browser.

  2. Click Users at the top of the page.
    If the migration assistant is displayed on the pane, you must migrate your users before you proceed. (For more information and complete instructions, see the Migrating Users Knowledge Base article.)

  3. Click VPP Invitations.
    On a smartphone or iPod touch, this option is in the pop-up menu.

  4. Click New images/download/thumbnails/11272416/New_icon.png .

  5. Use the General pane to configure basic settings for the invitation, including the VPP account and the method to use for sending the invitation.
    Note: The invitation is automatically added to the site that the VPP account belongs to.

  6. Click the Scope tab and configure the scope of the invitation.
    Note: If the site of the VPP account is changed at any point, users that do not belong to that VPP account's site are removed from the scope of the invitation. For more information, see Scope.

  7. Click Save.

A VPP invitation is immediately sent to the users you specified. You can view the status of the invitation in the list of invitations.

Note: Users can also view and accept VPP invitations in Self Service. For more information, see VPP Registration User Experience.

Viewing VPP Invitation Usage

  1. Log in to the JSS with a web browser.

  2. Click Users at the top of the page.

  3. Click VPP Invitations.
    On a smartphone or iPod touch, this option is in the pop-up menu.

  4. Click the invitation you want to view usage for.

  5. Click Usage.
    Basic invitation usage information is displayed, such as the status and last action.

  6. To view additional details such as the date sent and the invitation ID, click the username for that item.

Resending a VPP Invitation

The JSS allows you to resend VPP invitations to users that have not yet registered with VPP.

  1. Log in to the JSS with a web browser.

  2. Click Users at the top of the page.

  3. Click VPP Invitations.
    On a smartphone or iPod touch, this option is in the pop-up menu.

  4. Click the invitation you want to resend.

  5. Click Resend.

A VPP invitation is immediately sent to users in the scope that have not yet registered with VPP.

Note: Users can also view and accept VPP invitations in Self Service. For more information, see VPP Registration User Experience.

Cloning, Editing, or Deleting a VPP Invitation

  1. Log in to the JSS with a web browser.

  2. Click Users at the top of the page.

  3. Click VPP Invitations.
    On a smartphone or iPod touch, this option is in the pop-up menu.

  4. Click the invitation you want to clone, edit, or delete.

  5. Do one of the following:

    • To clone the invitation, click Clone and make changes as needed. Then click Save.

    • To edit the invitation, click Edit and make changes as needed. Then click Save.

    • To delete the invitation, click Delete and then click Delete again to confirm.

Related Information

For related information, see the following sections in this guide:

For related information, see the following Knowledge Base article:

Redoing VPP Registration for an Unintended Apple ID
Find out how to redo the VPP registration for a user that registered with VPP using an unintended Apple ID.

Copyright | Privacy | Terms of Use | Security
Copyright JAMF Software, LLC 2016