User-Assigned Volume Purchasing Registration

Before you can assign content purchased through volume purchasing (formerly VPP) to users for user-assigned managed distribution, users must register with volume purchasing by accepting an invitation.

The following table describes the different methods you can use to distribute invitations:

Distribution Method

User Experience on macOS

User Experience on iOS

Notes

Send the invitation via email

The user clicks the URL in the email invitation and, if prompted, enters credentials for their LDAP directory account or a Jamf Pro user account. The user then connects to the App Store where they enter their Apple ID and complete the registration process.

 

Prompt the user to accept the invitation, and make the invitation available in Self Service for macOS

A notification appears on the user's computer prompting them to register with volume purchasing. Users can also access the invitation in Self Service for macOS by clicking the Notifications icon in the Self Service toolbar.

After clicking the invitation, the user connects to the App Store where they enter their Apple ID and complete the registration process.

A notification appears on the user's mobile device prompting them to register with volume purchasing. The user then connects to the App Store where they enter their Apple ID and complete the registration process.

The user only needs to accept the invitation on one device, even if the invitation is shown on multiple devices.

Make the invitation available in Self Service only

The user can access the invitation in Self Service for macOS by clicking the Notifications icon in the Self Service toolbar.

After clicking the invitation, the user connects to the App Store where they enter their Apple ID and complete the registration process.

The user can access the invitation in the Self Service app by clicking
VPP Invitations. The user then connects to the App Store where they enter their Apple ID and complete the registration process.

The user only needs to accept the invitation on one device, even if the invitation is shown on multiple devices.

Automatically register only users with Managed Apple IDs and skip invitation

Only users that are in the scope of the invitation and have Managed Apple IDs are automatically registered with volume purchasing. The users do not receive an invitation and are not prompted to register with volume purchasing.

Users that are in the scope of the invitation and do not have Managed Apple IDs do not receive an invitation and are not registered with volume purchasing.

To configure automatic registration options for the invitation, the Automatically register with volume purchasing if users have Managed Apple IDs option must be enabled for the location. For more information, see Integrating with Volume Purchasing.

After an invitation is sent using a Self Service method, it is available in Self Service on any computer or mobile device that the user is assigned to. If the user has more than one invitation, they must accept each invitation individually. If the user does not accept the invitation and attempts to install an app or book assigned through volume purchasing, they are prompted to accept the invitation before the app or book is installed.

After the user has accepted an invitation, content can be assigned to them for managed distribution. For more information, see User-Assigned Volume Assignments.

Note: Jamf Pro also supports device-based managed distribution, which allows distributing App Store apps directly to computers and mobile devices. Volume purchasing user registration is not required for device-based distribution. For more information, see Device-Assigned Managed Distribution.

General Requirements

To register users with volume purchasing, you must first add a location in Jamf Pro. (For more information, see Integrating with Volume Purchasing.)

To send an invitation via email, you need an SMTP server set up in Jamf Pro. (For more information, see Integrating with an SMTP Server.)

If you send an invitation via email and require users to log in, users must log in to a registration page with an LDAP directory account or a Jamf Pro user account. For users to log in with their LDAP directory account, you need an LDAP server set up in Jamf Pro. (For more information, see Integrating with LDAP Directory Services.)

To send an invitation by prompting users, you need:

  • Computers with macOS 10.9 or later that are bound to a directory service or mobile devices with iOS 7.0.4 or later (For more information, see Directory Bindings.)

  • A push certificate in Jamf Pro (For more information, see Push Certificates.)

To configure automatic registration options for the invitation, the Automatically register with volume purchasing if users have Managed Apple IDs option must be enabled on the location. (For more information, see Integrating with Volume Purchasing.)

Sending an Invitation

  1. Log in to Jamf Pro.

  2. Click Users at the top of the page.

  3. Click Invitations.

  4. Click New images/download/thumbnails/82674738/Icon_New_Button.png .

  5. Use the General pane to configure basic settings for the invitation, including the location and the method to use for sending the invitation.

    Note: The invitation is automatically added to the site that the location belongs to.

  6. (Optional) To automatically register users in the scope of the invitation that have Managed Apple IDs and send an invitation to the users that do not have Managed Apple IDs, select the Automatically register with volume purchasing if users have Managed Apple IDs checkbox.
    Users that have Managed Apple IDs are automatically registered with volume purchasing and do not receive an invitation or get prompted to register with volume purchasing. Users that do not have Managed Apple IDs receive the invitation via the method selected from the Distribution Method pop-up menu.

    Note: This checkbox is only displayed if the Automatically register with volume purchasing if users have Managed Apple IDs option is enabled for the location. For more information, see Integrating with Volume Purchasing.

  7. Click the Scope tab and configure the scope of the invitation.

    Note: If the site of the location is changed at any point, users that do not belong to that location's site are removed from the scope of the invitation.

  8. Click Save.

An invitation is immediately sent to the users you specified. You can view the status of the invitation in the list of invitations.

Viewing Invitation Usage

  1. Log in to Jamf Pro.

  2. Click Users at the top of the page.

  3. Click Invitations.

  4. Click the invitation you want to view usage for.

  5. Click Usage images/download/thumbnails/80749108/preview-content.png .
    Basic invitation usage information is displayed, such as the status and last action.

  6. To view additional details such as the date sent and the invitation ID, click the username for that item.

Resending an Invitation

Jamf Pro allows you to resend invitations to users that have not yet registered with volume purchasing.

  1. Log in to Jamf Pro.

  2. Click Users at the top of the page.

  3. Click Invitations.

  4. Click the invitation you want to resend.

  5. Click Resend images/download/thumbnails/80749394/paper-plane.png .

An invitation is immediately sent to users in the scope that have not yet registered with volume purchasing.

Redoing User Registration for an Unintended Apple ID

You can redo the registration for a user that registered using an unintended Apple ID. This process temporarily revokes the apps assigned to the user and then reassigns the apps after the user accepts the new invitation. Depending on your environment, this process may take awhile.

Note: Books assigned to the user remain associated with the unintended Apple ID.

  1. Log in to the Jamf Pro with a web browser.

  2. Click Users at the top of the page.

  3. Perform a simple or advanced user search. For more information, see the Simple User Searches or Advanced User Searches.

  4. Click the user you want to redo the volume purchasing registration for.

  5. Click Redo, and then click Redo Volume Purchasing Registration again.

A new invitation is immediately sent to the user.

Copyright     Privacy Policy     Terms of Use     Security
© copyright 2002-2021 Jamf. All rights reserved.