Screen Sharing Using TeamViewer

The TeamViewer screen sharing session is initialized from the computer inventory in Jamf Pro and an optional Self Service invitation to join the session displays on the remote computer. After the session is started, you can re-send the Self Service invitation. Alternatively, copy the session URL and send it to the end user via your preferred communication method.

Note: For Self Service notifications to work, you must configure them in the Interaction section of the Self Service settings in Jamf Pro. In addition, before the remote session is initialized, Self Service must run on the remote computer at least once.

Joining a session by the remote computer is an end user workflow with TeamViewer QuickSupport used as the remote management tool with granted necessary Privacy permissions. To establish a connection using other TeamViewer applications (e.g., TeamViewer Host), they must be installed on the end user computers. For related information, see the macOS mass deployment documentation resources from TeamViewer.

Consider your TeamViewer subscription limitations when initializing a session.

Initiating and Closing a Remote Session

Requirements

A TeamViewer configuration must be added to Jamf Pro. For information, see TeamViewer Integration.

Procedure

  1. Log in to Jamf Pro.

  2. Click Computers at the top of the page.

  3. Perform a simple or advanced computer search.

  4. Click the computer you want to connect with for remote management.

  5. Click the Management tab, and then click Remote Administration.

  6. (Optional) Enter the reason for the session. It will be listed in the TeamViewer management console. If you do not add the reason, it defaults to "Jamf Remote Administration".

  7. Click Start Session. After the session is initialized, you can re-send a Self Service notification to join the session. Alternatively, you can copy the session URL and send it to the end user via your preferred communication method.

  8. Click the administrator's remote session URL. This opens in a separate browser window. Follow the onscreen instructions to join the session.

  9. To manually close a session, click Close Session. It is recommended to close sessions to avoid issues with your TeamViewer subscription quota.

Note: Sessions are automatically closed after the maximum session time set in the Remote Administration configuration in Global Management. This does not influence ongoing meetings and they remain open.

Copyright     Privacy Policy     Terms of Use     Security
© copyright 2002-2021 Jamf. All rights reserved.