Re-enrollment Settings

The Re-enrollment settings in Jamf Pro allow you to clear certain information from inventory for a computer or mobile device when it is re-enrolled with Jamf Pro.

The Re-enrollment settings are applied to computers and mobile devices when they are re-enrolled with Jamf Pro via the following enrollment methods:

  • User-initiated enrollment

  • PreStage enrollment

  • Apple Configurator 2 enrollment methods (mobile devices only)

The following table lists the settings that you can apply to inventory information during re-enrollment:

Setting

Description

Clear user and location information on mobile devices and computers

This setting clears all information from the User and Location category on the Inventory tab in computer and mobile device inventory information during re-enrollment with Jamf Pro. When devices are re-enrolled, the user and location fields display a blank value.

Information is not cleared, however, when the following happens:

  • If a user logs in to the enrollment portal using an LDAP directory account, or a JSS user logs in and assigns an LDAP user to the device, then the user and location information associated with the LDAP account is assigned to the device during re-enrollment. If the user chooses a site at enrollment, the device is associated with the selected site.

  • If there is an extension attribute displayed on the User and Location category on the Inventory tab, the value for the extension attribute is not cleared during re-enrollment.

  • If a PreStage enrollment is used to enroll devices and the Use existing location information, if applicable option is selected, the user and location information of the user logging in is populated in the device's inventory information.

For more information about user and location information, see Viewing and Editing Inventory Information for a Computer and Viewing and Editing Inventory Information for a Mobile Device.

Clear user and location history information on mobile devices and computers

This setting clears all information from the User and Location History category on the History tab in computer and mobile device inventory information during re-enrollment with Jamf Pro.

For more information about user and location history information, see Viewing the History for a Computer and Viewing the History for a Mobile Device.

Clear policy logs on computers

This setting clears all information from the Policy Logs category on the History tab in computer inventory information during re-enrollment with Jamf Pro. For more information about the policy logs for computers, see Viewing the History for a Computer.

In addition, this setting clears the logs for a policy for re-enrolled computers that have run the policy. For information on viewing and flushing logs for a policy, see Managing Policies.

When the computer is re-enrolled with Jamf Pro, any policies that the computer is in the scope of are re-run on the computer at the policy's next trigger.

Clear extension attribute values on computers and mobile devices

This option clears all values for extension attributes that are populated by the following input types:

  • Text field

  • Pop-up menu

  • Script (computers only)

  • LDAP Attribute Mapping

Note: Values for extension attributes that are populated by scripts and LDAP Attribute Mappings are cleared during re-enrollment, but are then re-populated the next time computers and mobile devices check in with Jamf Pro.

This option does not remove the extension attribute from Jamf Pro.

For more information about extension attributes, see Computer Extension Attributes and Mobile Device Extension Attributes.

Clear management history on mobile devices and computers

This setting clears all information from the Management History category on the History tab in computer and mobile device inventory information during re-enrollment with Jamf Pro.

You can clear the following information:

  • Completed, pending, and failed commands

  • Pending and failed commands

  • Failed commands

  • Nothing

The default setting is to clear pending and failed commands.

Note: If there are pending commands at the time of re-enrollment, these commands are cleared.

For more information about management history information, see Viewing the History for a Computer and Viewing the History for a Mobile Device.

Configuring the Re-enrollment Settings

  1. Log in to Jamf Pro.

  2. In the top-right corner of the page, click Settings images/download/thumbnails/16442318/Settings_Icon.png .

  3. Click Global Management.

  4. Click Re-enrollment images/download/thumbnails/16442318/ReEnroll.png .

  5. Choose the settings that you want to apply to device inventory information during re-enrollment.

  6. Click Save.

When computers and mobile devices are re-enrolled with Jamf Pro, the settings are applied to inventory information.

Related Information

For related information, see the following sections in this guide:

Copyright | Privacy | Terms of Use | Security
© copyright 2002-2017 Jamf. All rights reserved.